Western Michigan wins 2016 Omnivore National Championship

After completing their 13-0 season and winning the Mid-American Conference championship, Western Michigan wins the 2016 Omnivore National Championship by virtue of being the highest ranked (Group of Five) team in the Omnivore rankings at the end of the regular season. Starting this year, the Omnivore rankings policy no longer counts post-season games as part of the national championship criteria. After a five-year hiatus from ranking, Western Michigan Broncos are the first team to be awarded the national title since our return.

Western Michigan is the first MAC team since Marshall in 2001 to win the Omnivore national championship.


2016. Western Michigan
2011. Southern Mississippi
2010. Texas Christian
2009. Boise State
2008. Utah (Finished #1)
2007. Brigham Young
2006. Boise State
2005. Texas Christian
2004. Utah
2003. Miami of Ohio
2002. Boise State
2001. Marshall
2000. Toledo
1999. Marshall
1998. Tulane

This entry was posted on Sunday, December 4th, 2016 at 8:30 pm and is filed under football, Omnivore Rankings. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply